Current & Previous Leigh Lecture Speakers

This is a university-wide lecture made possible by a generous gift from the family of Duane Leigh, Professor Emeritus and former Chair of the Economics Department at Washington State University. The Bertha C. and Roy E. Leigh Distinguished Lecture Endowment was established in 2001 by Duane’s father, the late Roy E. Leigh to honor his wife.

2017 Leigh Lecture Speaker – March 23

The 2017 Leigh Lecture speaker is Nobel Laureate Dr. Edward C. Prescott. Dr. Prescott is the W. P. Carey Chair in Economics at Arizona State University and a Senior Monetary Analyst at the Minneapolis Federal Reserve Bank. He received his B.A. in mathematics from Swarthmore College in 1962, his M.S in Operations Research from Case‐Reserve University in 1963, and his Ph.D. in economics from Carnegie Mellon University in 1967.

Dr. Prescott is a theorist in aggregate economics who develops and applies dynamic economic theory to problems in financial economics, economic fluctuations, public finance, growth and development, and international economics areas.

He and Finn Kydland were jointly awarded the 2004 Nobel Prize in Economics “for their contributions to dynamic macroeconomics: the time inconsistency of economic policy and the driving forces behind business cycles.”

Previous Leigh Lecture Speakers

  • Joseph Harrington, 2016, Patrick T. Harker Professor of Business Economics and Public Policy at the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania.
  • Michael Grossman, 2015, Distinguished Professor, City University of New York Graduate School and Director of the NBER’s Health Economics Program.
  • Susan Athey, 2014, Economics of Technology Professor at Stanford University Graduate School of Business.
  • William Greene, 2013, Robert Stansky Professor of Stern School of Business, joseph harringNew York University.
  • Matthew Rabin, 2012, Edward G. and Nancy S. Jordan Professor of Economics, University of California – Berkeley. 2016 Update: Current position Harvard University.
  • Orley Ashenfelter, 2011, Joseph Douglas Green 1895 Professor of Economics at Princeton University
  • Robert E. Lucas, Jr, 2010, Nobel Laureate 1995,  John Dewey Distinguished Service Professor of Economics at the University of Chicago.
  • Jerry Hausman, 2009, John and Jennie S. MacDonald Professor of Economics at MIT in Cambridge.
  • Tim Kehoe, 2008, Distinguished McKnight Professor of Economics, University of Minnesota.
  • James J. Heckman, 2007, Nobel Laureate 2000, Henry Schultz Distinguished Service Professor of Economics, University of Chicago.
  • Daniel McFadden, 2006, Nobel Laureate 2000, E. Morris Cox Professor of Economics, Director of the Econometrics Laboratory, and Professor of the Graduate School at the University of California, Berkeley.
  • Kathryn Shaw, 2005, Ernest C. Arbuckle Professor of Economics in the Graduate School of Business at Stanford University
  • Alan Auerbach, 2004, Robert D. Burch Professor of Economics and Law Director, University of California, Berkeley
  • Kerry Smith, 2003, University Distinguished Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics at North Carolina State University. 2016 Update: Current position Arizona State University.
  • Ed Lazear, 2002, Jack Steel Parker Professor of Human Resources Management and Economics, Stanford University.
  • Hal Varian, 2001, Class of 1944 Professor of Economics and Professor of Business Administration and Information Management and Systems, University of California, Berkeley.
Washington State University