PhD Students on Job Market

Graduate Student Placement Coordinator:  Ben Cowan

Job Market Guide


2020-21 PhD Students Job Market Placement


Christopher Ambrose
Webpage: https://students.ses.wsu.edu/christopher-ambrose
Email:christopher.ambrose@wsu.edu
Dissertation Title:
Three Essays on the Impacts of Recreational Marijuana Legalization
Major Professor:
Benjamin W. Cowan
Research Interest:
Health Economics, Applied Microeconomics, Applied Econometrics, Industrial Organization



Yenjae Chang
Webpage: https://students.ses.wsu.edu/yenjae-chang/
Email: yenjae.chang@wsu.edu
Dissertation Title:
Three Essays on Market Power and Consumer Welfare
Major Professor:
Jia Yan
Research Interest:
Industrial Organization, Energy and Environmental Economics, Transportation Economics, Public Economics

Xi Gu
Webpage: https://students.ses.wsu.edu/xi-gu/
Email: xi.gu@wsu.edu
Dissertation Title:
Three Essays on Hops Production, Beer Price Inputs, and Beer Demand
Major Professor:
Dr. Thomas L. Marsh
Research Interest:
Applied Microeconomics, Applied Econometrics, Consumer Demand, Agricultural Economics, Quantitative Methods

Afrin Islam
Webpage: https://students.ses.wsu.edu/afrin-islam/
Email: afrin.islam@wsu.edu
Dissertation Title:
Essays on Food Choices and Health Outcomes
Major Professors:
Dr. Jill J. McCluskey, Dr. Thomas L. Marsh and Dr. Ron Mittelhammer
Research Interest:
Applied Econometrics, Economics of Media, Food Policy, Climate Change

Anika Islam,
Webpage: https://students.ses.wsu.edu/anika-islam/
Email: anika.islam@wsu.edu
Dissertation Title:Strategic behavior in the energy sector"
Major Professor:
Dr. Ana Espinola Arredondo
Research Interest:
Energy Economics, Environmental and Resource Economics, Game Theory, Industrial Organization, Applied Econometrics

Jikhan Jeong
Webpage: https://students.ses.wsu.edu/jikhan-jeong/
Email: Jikhan.Jeong@wsu.edu
Dissertation Title:
Business Economics of Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Big Data
Major Professor:
H. Alan Love
Research Interest:
Business Economics of AI and Big Data, Machine Learning, Deep Learning, Natural Language Processing (NLP), Discrete Choice Model, Energy Economics.




Samantha Johnson
Webpage: https://students.ses.wsu.edu/samantha-johnson/
Email: samantha.r.johnson@wsu.edu
Dissertation Title:
Cause and Effect of Marketing Order Terminations
Major Professors:
Jill J. McCluskey and Mike Brady
Research Interest:
Agriculture, Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics

Alexander Kappes
Webpage:
https://students.ses.wsu.edu/alexander-kappes/

Email: alexander.kappes@wsu.edu
Dissertation Title:
The Economics of Livestock Health, Disease, and Production
Major Professors:
Thomas L. Marsh and J. Shannon Neibergs
Research Interest:
Applied Statistical Learning, Agricultural Economics, Global Health and Development

Ashutosh Kumar
Wepage: https://students.ses.wsu.edu/ashutosh-kumar/
Email: ashutosh.kumar@wsu.edu
Dissertation Title:
Three Essays in Health and Environmental Economics
Major Professor:
Benjamin W. Cowan
Research Interest:
Applied Microeconomics, Health Economics, Development Economics

Hao Li
Webpage: https://students.ses.wsu.edu/hao-li/
Email: haoli.li@wsu.edu
Dissertation Title:
Three Essays on Agricultural and Applied Microeconomics
Major Professor:
Dr. Jonathan Yoder
Research Interest:
Primary: Applied Econometrics
Secondary: Environmental and Natural Resources Economics, Agricultural Economics.

Jugal Marfatia
Webpage: https://jugalmarfatia.netlify.com
Email: jugal.marfatia@wsu.edu
Dissertation Title:
Application of Machine Learning in Health Economics.
Major Professors:
Jill J. McCluskey and Mike Brady
Research Interest:
Econometrics, Machine Learning, Data Science
Position Accepted:
Data Scientist, Analytics: Facebook

Nicholas Potter
Webpage: https://students.ses.wsu.edu/nicholas-potter/
Email: nicholas.a.potter@wsu.edu
Dissertation Title:
Essays in Climate and Resource Economics
Major Professors:
Dr. Michael Brady
Research Interest:
Climate economics, Environmental and Natural Resource Economics, Conflict, Spatial Econometrics, Bayesian Statistics

Mursaleen Shiraj
Webpage: https://students.ses.wsu.edu/molla-shiraj/
Email: m.shiraj@wsu.edu

Dissertation Title:
Applications of Causal Inference and Policy Analysis
Major Professors:
Dr. Ron Mittelhammer, Dr. Jill McCluskey and Dr. Jia Yan
Research Interest:
Applied Econometrics; Health Economics; Agricultural, Environmental and Natural Resource Economics.

Joshua Tibbitts
Webpage: https://students.ses.wsu.edu/joshua-tibbitts/
Email: joshua.tibbitts@wsu.edu
Dissertation Title:
The Economics of Pain
Major Professors:
Jill McCluskey and Ron Mittelhammer
Research Interest:
Health Economics, Behavioral Economics, Pain, Public Economics

Previous Job Placements

Washington State University